Delivering the Truth

Delivering the Truth

Quaker midwife Rose Carroll hears secrets and keeps con­fi­dences as she attends births of the rich and poor alike in an 1888 Massachusetts mill town. When the town’s world-famed car­riage indus­try is threat­ened by the work of an arson­ist, and a car­riage fac­tory owner’s adult son is stabbed to death with Rose’s own knitting needle, she is drawn into solv­ing the mys­tery.

Delivering the Truth is the first book in a new cozy mystery series by Edith Maxwell. I was eagerly awaiting this book because I like the premise of an historical mystery setting. The idea is not something being done right now with cozy mysteries available right now to read. Normally its a food book, Amish, a hobby, etc. so the idea of a Quaker midwife in 1888 who finds herself in the middle of a mystery intrigued me.  I had high hopes for this book because I like cozy mysteries and always enjoy getting lost in them as a palette cleanser in between more in depth reading.

The book started off with introducing characters of the series and laying the ground work of the novel. Sadly though I found myself losing interest due to how slowly the story was taking off. I know in first books they can be sometimes slow because the author is laying out the ground work for the series but  I just couldn’t get myself interested in the story. I found myself plodding through just trying to get to the end so I would know how things would end. In fairness of it being the first book in the series I do plan on reading the second book to see if things improve or if I need to give up on this series, knowing that not all books are for me to like. I try not to give negative reviews so please know that a book that might not be for me might be the next greatest book for you.

Delivering the Truth is out now and can be found in your local bookstore or online store.


*Disclaimer: I received an advance copy of this book for my honest review. All opinions are freely mine.


Murder She Wrote: Design for Murder

Design for Murder


Jessica is in Manhattan to attend the debut of a new designer. Formerly Sandy Black of Cabot Cove, the young man has reinvented himself as Xandr Ebon, and is introducing his evening wear collection to the public and—more important—to the industry’s powers-that-be: the stylists, the magazine editors, the buyers, and the wealthy clientele who can make or break him. At the show, the glitz and glamour are dazzling until a young model—a novice, taking her first walk down the runway—shockingly collapses and dies. Natural causes? Perhaps. But when another model is found dead, a famous cover girl and darling of the paparazzi, the fashion world gets nervous.

In the latest installment of Murder She Wrote, Jessica Fletcher goes into the world of models and Fashion Week in New York City. With plenty of twists and turns, the reader is led on a delightful journey that gives plenty of clues but red herrings as well as to all the reader some fun in guessing whodunit. Not one of more favorite novels of the series, the detective that was a little too pushy and the behavior of Sandy at times irked me. Those things aside the novel was delightful and a fun quick read that ended with a satisfying conclusion.

Murder She Wrote: Design for Murder is out today and can be found in your local bookstore or online.


*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book for my honest review.

The Atonement

The Atonement

The mistakes of the past haunt Lucy Flaud, who years ago stopped attending the activities for courting-age young people in her hometown of Bird-in-Hand. Now twenty-five and solidly past the age of Amish courtship, Lucy has given up any hope of marriage, instead focusing her efforts on volunteering in both the Plain and fancy communities of Lancaster County. Yet no matter how hard Lucy strives, she feels uncertain that she’ll ever find redemption.

Dale Wyeth has a deep mistrust of modern-day “advances” and the dependency they create. The young Englisher’s interest in living off the grid is fueled further when he meets Christian Flaud, Lucy’s father. Dale appreciates the self-sufficient ways of the Old Order Amish, and Christian invites him to learn more about them by staying at the family farm…

YouTube Preview

Beverly Lewis is back again with a remarkable tail of how far one will go to find redemption from past sins. Lucy’s tale mixes with that of an Englisher Dale Wyeth who is trying to learn from her father how to live off the grid. Throughout the novel Lucy’s past is slowly revealed and the reader feels the pain of Lucy’s grief. Beverly Lewis is the queen of Amish fiction and her newest novel weaves a tale of forgiveness and atonement that stays true to the Amish ways of life. Beverly Lewis has spent a major portion of her life writing Amish fiction and has researched the Amish life and her novels though are fiction do ring true to the Amish way of life with a little straying that doesn’t take away from the simplicity of the story. As true to all her Amish fiction novels, Beverly Lewis’s novel ends with a satisfying end that  leaves the reader satisfied and realizing that forgiveness is available to all. The Atonement is out now and can be found in your local bookstore or online.


*Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

Crime and Poetry

Crime and Poetry


Rushing home to sit by her ailing grandmother’s bedside, Violet Waverly is shocked to find Grandma Daisy the picture of perfect health. Violet doesn’t need to read between the lines: her grandma wants Violet back home and working in her magical store, Charming Books. It’s where the perfect book tends to fly off the shelf and pick you…


The first in a new cozy mystery, Crime and Poetry is pure magic. Quick paced novel that leaves you wanting more and more. Amanda Flower weaves her magic once again in her newest series that will delight old fans of her works and introduce new fans to her wonderful writing. Amanda who is known for writing under Isabella Allan with an Amish Mystery series, takes a new direction in this series. A delightful story that weaves a spell until the very end. With the right mixture of quirky characters, a small town filled with possibilities, and a bookstore where the books choose you. With the right mix of hints and red herrings the story leads to a wonderful conclusion and I can’t wait for the next book in the series. I fell in love with Violet and Grandma Daisy and look forward to discovering more about their past along with the other quirky members of Cascade Springs.

Crime and Poetry is out today and can be found in your local bookstore or library.

*Disclaimer, I received a free copy of the book for my honest opinion. All opinions are of my own free will.